ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

Title of Man	ti.a.a.	Conffelling Libraries IDC Ltd. ACM
Title of Meeting		Suffolk's Libraries IPS Ltd AGM
Date		29 th September 2016
Place		The Cookhouse, Suffolk Food Hall, Wherstead, Ipswich, Suffolk IP9 2AB
Time		6.30pm – 7.45pm
Attendees		Directors, Members and Staff of Suffolk Libraries (for a full list of attendees, please contact Nikki Sturmey at nikki.sturmey@suffolklibraries.co.uk)
1.	Welcome	
	The Chair welcomed the members, staff and other interested parties to Suffolk Libraries' fourth Annual General Meeting.	
2.	Apologies for Absence	
	Mark Murphy (BBC Radio Suffolk) Lynne Walker (Aldeburgh Library) Gill Caple (Mildenhall Library) Marion Harvey (Ipswich County Library) John Verity (Southwold library) Deborah Cadman (SCC) Andy Wood (Adnams) Therese Coffey (MP) Peter Aldous (MP) Jo Churchill (MP) Matt Hancock (MP) Ben Gummer (MP) Jimmy Jewell (Elmswell Library) Richard Selwyn (SCC) Sue Cook (SCC) Bob Jardine (Saxmundham Library) Ursula Scott (Stowmarket Library) John Raynor (Leiston Town Council) James Cartlidge (MP) Iain Dunnett (New Anglia LEP) Janet Dillaway (Suffolk Family Carers) Emma Bishton (Great Cornard Library)	
3.	Minutes The minutes from the AGM 2015 were accepted as a true account of discussions.	
4.	Annual Report	
	achievements	Chair) and Alison Wheeler (Chief Executive) both gave speeches about the of the last year, they both drew attention to the work done by staff, pups, volunteers and the Board.
5.	Accounts 2015/16 Jonathan Ogden (Honorary Secretary) presented a speech detailing the struggle Suffolk	
	Libraries faced at the beginning of the financial year. He commented on the success Suffolk Libraries had in breaking even after funding cuts and beginning the year with a deficit. There were no questions and the accounts were accepted and approved.	
		lvia Knights (Bungay Library) e Buck (Long Melford Library)

6.	Appointment of Auditor The nominated members were asked to consider the appointment of Larking Gowen as the society's auditor for the ensuing year. The appointment was agreed. Proposed: Sylvia Knights (Bungay Library) Seconded: Colin Rockall (Lavenham Library)		
7.	Announcement of the election of 2 Suffolk Libraries IPS Ltd Board Members The following Directors were elected: Richard Bull (Woodbridge) Maureen Garrett Simpson (Ipswich) Due to there being two board vacancies and two expressions of interest in becoming a Director this year there was no need for a member vote. The Chair welcomed Richard and Maureen to the Board.		
8.	Guest Speaker Nicola Upson, Author, gave an inspiring speech on her personal view of the importance of Libraries in society today society and spoke at length about the books from her childhood which had inspired her.		
9.	Closing remarks The Chair thanked the members for their attendance and declared the meeting closed.		
10.	Volunteer Awards Sylvia Knight (Vice Chair) presented the inaugural Suffolk Libraries Volunteer Awards which were sponsored by the East of England Co-operative. The winners were: Community Groups Volunteer – Liz Ditton (Kesgrave) Summer Reading Challenge Volunteer – Jacqueline Sharp (Haverhill) Home Library Service Volunteer – Diana Barrett & Margaret Marshall (Felixstowe) Young Volunteer – Josh Grimwood (Gainsborough) Out of the four category winners a 'Volunteer of the Year' was chosen and the winners were: Diana Barrett & Margaret Marshall (Felixstowe)		